How to Take & Edit Your Instagram Photos

When trying to take a good Instagram photo or selfie, it isn’t always necessary to have the best camera or the latest iPhone model. In my opinion, the key to taking a great photo is some good lighting.

From my experience, the best place to take photos is outside in daylight. This will help you to achieve the sharpest image possible, because let’s face it, there’s nothing worse than a blurry Instagram photo. I also find that in good, natural lighting, the true colours of whatever you’re taking a picture of will show up.

When taking your picture, in order to ensure a crisp image, hold down on your screen, the point where you want the main focus to be on. Another option could be to turn your HDMI setting on to gain the best clarity.

My next tip would be to have a good editing app. Although the tools found on Instagram are quite handy, I find that I prefer the filters found on other apps more compared to these. My favourite apps to use are VSCO, Afterlight and PicFX.

I love using VSCO for the wide range of filters they have, some of which you can see below. This app is free, however if you would like to buy an even wider range of filters, the option is available.

Download this app from the App Store here, or the Play Store here.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

I use PicFX for their filters as well as their galaxy overlays.

You do have to pay for this app. You can purchase it from the App Store here, or the Play Store here.

Processed with VSCOcam with m3 preset

IMG_9933

Afterlight is the perfect app for simply adjusting the contrast, brightness, sharpness or clarity of your photo. I also love the cropping tool found in this app. I used Afterlight to edit the picture below. This is another app that isn’t free.

Purchase this app from the App Store here, or the Play Store here.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Make sure to follow me on Instagram @raafiahm!

name

4 thoughts on “How to Take & Edit Your Instagram Photos

  1. Concise and informative post. My days of using Retrica are over! Only suggestion I’d make is that you include android (play store) links for the apps as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

