Top 10 Favourite Makeup Products

Over the past few years, I’ve tested out my fair share of makeup products from a variety of different brands. I have decided to compile them into a list, which includes, in my opinion, the best ways to apply them.

So here it is, a list of my top 10 makeup products:

  1. L’oreal Paris Infallible 24H Matte Foundation

According to the instructions on the back of this product, this foundation is meant to have high coverage, a medium texture and matte finish, and I feel as if it does all these things perfectly.

One of the many reasons why this is my all time favourite foundation is because of it’s wide colour selection. I use this foundation in the shade “24, Golden Beige”, and find that this is the perfect match to my skin colour, which I haven’t been successful in finding yet with other foundations.

I use this foundation for my everyday and special occasion makeup. I find that a little bit of this product goes a long way, yet it is still a buildable product.

My method of application is to squeeze a bit of the foundation out onto my finger and place one dot on each of my cheeks, my forehead, nose and chin. I then take a Real Techniques Buffing Brush and work this into my skin in circular motions, for an airbrushed effect. I find that it isn’t essential to set this foundation because it already appears matte on the skin and doesn’t make my skin oily throughout the day.

This product can be purchased from Clicks, but you can also purchase it online here.

Price: R 189.95

picture_photo_cac78e.jpg

  1. Mac Prolongwear Concealer

I purchased this concealer from Mac in Edgars and would do so again, despite its price.

I find this concealer provides amazing coverage and feels super light on the skin when blended in with a damp Beauty Blender.

Another thing I like about this product is its packaging. I find that the bottle doesn’t get messy easily, pumps out the perfect amount of product and contains about a year’s supply of concealer.

I purchased this concealer in the shade NW25. I place one pump of the concealer on the back of my hand and apply it under my eyes to conceal any darkness, using a damp Beauty Blender.

Purchase this product online here.

Price: R 295.00

mac-pro-longwear-concealer.jpg

  1. Sleek Brow Kit

This product has done wonders for my brows over the past year. This brow kit contains a wax and setting powder. It also comes with a pair of tiny tweezers and two small brushes.

I purchased this product in the shade “Extra Dark” and find it to be a perfect match for my brows. One thing I love about this product is how pigmented both the wax and the setting powder are. I also find the tweezers that come with this product are really useful, as they manage to pluck even the smallest of brow hairs. This product has also lasted ages and I would definitely repurchase it.

I usually first apply the wax to any sparse areas of my brows with a Coastal Scents angled brush. Using a thin angled brush with this product ensures that you achieve a perfect brow shape. I then set this wax using the dark brown powder.

This product can be purchased from drugstores in the U.K. and the U.S.A. Another option could be to order it from an Instagram account by the name of @muse.sa.

brow-kit-dark_1.jpg

  1. Mary-Lou Manizer by theBalm Cosmetics

I’m sure most of you have already heard about this product being raved about by other makeup artists in the past year, but I still feel as if it is worth the mention.

This product is the most pigmented highlighter I own. It is a beautiful, light colour that shows up perfectly on my skin.

I usually apply this product using either a brush or my finger. I apply it to my cheekbones, cupids bow and the tip of my nose. I sometimes also use it for my brow highlight.

This is another product that can be purchased from drugstores in the U.K. However, @muse.sa on Instagram sells this product in South Africa as well. Another option could be to order it online here.

theBalm_Mary_Lou_Manizer_Luminizer_8_5g_1385999761_main.jpg

  1. Mac Cremeblend Blush in “Pose”

I love this product because I find that it is really pigmented and stays on my cheeks for much longer than a powder blush would. It’s perfect for giving a flush of colour to the cheeks for an everyday makeup look.

I apply this product using a Sigma Duo Fibre Powder/Blush brush. It can also be applied using your fingers. A little definitely goes a long way with this product.

It can be bought from any Mac store or online here.

Price: 275.00

mac_sku_MFFR13_640x600_1.jpg

  1. L’oreal Paris Super Liner Perfect Slim

This product is my key to achieving a super sharp, intense winged eyeliner.

I purchased this liquid liner from Clicks, in the shade “Intense Black”. The colour payoff is extremely good as soon as you buy the product, however, like most liquid liners, the eyeliner will dry up quickly and won’t appear as intensely after a while. I also do find that the tip of the applicator loses it’s firmness over time, but I am still yet to find a liquid liner that beats this one. I’ve purchased this product more than 5 times, so it’s a definite favourite.

This product can be purchased online here.

Price: R 149.95

L'Or_al Paris Super Liner Perfect Slim Intense Black (1).jpg

  1. Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara

This product easily became one of my favourite makeup products from the first time I used it. I find that it separates my lashes out, yet gives them length and volume at the same time.

I apply about two coats of this mascara to my top lashes and one coat to my bottom lashes. This is another product which can be purchased at Clicks, Dischem, or online.

Price: R 145.00

maybelline-lash-sensational-mascara-black-schwarz-maybelline-new-york-10017977_B_P.jpg

  1. Inglot AMC Lip Pencil Matte

This lip crayon in the shade 24, is the perfect, “Kylie Jenner lip colour.” I find that this product stays on for a long time and doesn’t leave the lips too dry, even though it has a matte finish.

This product can be purchased from Inglot stores or the website here.

Price: R 249.00

4462_1_36_Thumb.png

  1. Mac Lip Liner in “Soar”

This is my absolute favourite lip liner. It glides on so smoothly and doesn’t budge.

I love using this all over my lips for an everyday, subtle lip colour.

This product can be purchased from any Mac Stores or online here.

Price: R 210.00

mac_sku_M38092_640x600_0.jpg

  1. L.A. Girl Matte Flat Finish Pigment Gloss

I purchased this liquid lipstick from Dischem, in the shade “Fleur”. This is a perfect neutral colour and it stays on your lips through anything. In fact, it’s actually hard to remove. It does leave the lips feeling a bit dry, but it still remains one of my favourites.

This product can be purchased from Dischem stores or online.

Price: R 59.95

la-girl-matte-pigment-gloss-cheap-cosmetics-ikatehouse-akh1110-z1.jpg

What are some of your favourite must-have beauty products? Let me know in the comments below!

name

5 thoughts on “Top 10 Favourite Makeup Products

    • Thank you! I’ve used good lipglosses in the past from Mac and Bobbi Brown. Some drugstore ones are the Revlon Colourburst Lipglosses and the Nyx Butter Glosses, which I’m sure you can buy from Clicks or Dischem. x

      Like

  1. Pingback: High End Makeup Dupes – Raafiah Mussa

Leave a Reply

