Special Occasion Eye Makeup

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

I recently attended a wedding, which I did this makeup look for. This is one of my favourite eye makeup looks because I love using the colour pink. I find that it’s such a pretty, subtle colour that can be used for creating dramatic looks, without seeming too “over the top”.

These are swatches of the eyeshadows and pigment used to create this look:

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

My first step in creating this eye makeup lookΒ is to prime or conceal the eyelids. I don’t own a primer because I don’t find that it’s a necessity, so instead of this, I use a concealer. When applying my undereye concealer, I bring it onto my eyelids, right up to my brow bone.

The concealer that I like to use for this step is the Mac Studio Finish Concealer, in the shade NC35. Feel free to use any concealer that you prefer. It can be applied with your finger or any brush of your choice and I find that it works just as well as any normal eye primer.

The point of this step is to basically cover up any discolouration on the eyelid as well as to prep the eyes for eyeshadow. It also helps the colour of the eyeshadow show up more clearly and can prevent them from creasing.

This leads me to the next step, which is to thereafter, place an eyeshadow or powder all over the eyelid where you placed the concealer. Using a Mac 239 Eye Shader brush, I sweep the eyeshadow “Combust”, from the Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette, all over my lid, to set the concealer. Alternatively, you can use any light eyeshadow that you own, or one close to your skin colour. You can even use a setting powder.

IMG_4391.JPG

IMG_4392.JPG

Next, to give the eyes a little more definition, I take the eyeshadow “Whiskey”, from the same palette and apply it to the outer corners of my eyes using the brush included with the palette. You can use any matte, dark brown eyeshadow and a tapered blending brush for this step. Make sure to blend this eyeshadow out well to remove any harsh edges.

IMG_4393.JPG

I then take a dark pink, sparkly eyeshadow by Inglot, in the colour “AMC 74” (bottom left eyeshadow in the picture shown below). Using a Coastal Scents BR-C-N09 brush, I pack this onto my crease area. Then using a Sigma, Tapered Blending E35 brush, I blend the brown and pink eyeshadows together so there are no harsh lines,Β and this also helps to distribute the pink eyeshadow throughout my crease.

IMG_4394.JPG

I then take a lighter pink, sparkly eyeshadow, from the same Inglot palette, in the colour “AMC Shine 48” (top left eyeshadow in the picture shown above). Using the Mac 239 brush which I used earlier, I just place this all over my eyelid. This is to prep the eye for the eyeshadow pigment we will be applying after this. It just ensures that if you miss out any areas with the pigment, you will still have a pink colour there, to show through.

Next up, is the main star of the show. A pink glitter pigment. I apply this using a dampΒ Sigma SS239 brush. This ensures that you get a little less fall out than usual and helps the colour to appear a bit brighter.

IMG_4395.JPG

Next, I applied the plain white eyeshadow, “Thirteen” from the Naked Smoky Palette to the inner corners of my eyes, and under my eyebrow to highlight both these areas. I applied this using a Sigma SS219 brush.

IMG_4396.JPG

Now it’s time for the dramatic winged eyeliner. I used the L’oreal Paris Super Liner Perfect Slim in “Intense Black” to draw my winged eyeliner. I then used the Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner in “Black,” and with a Coastal Scents, BR-C-S16 brush, I sharpened the wing and made it look cleaner. Feel free to use a concealer to clean up any mistakes you make with your wing.

IMG_4398.JPG

Next, I apply one coat of the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara to my top and bottom lashes. I then apply the Cheryl lashes by Eylure, in “Girls Night” using a tweezer and some lash glue.

IMG_4399.JPG

I then use the Mac lip liner in “Soar” to line my lips and apply the Inglot AMC Lip Pencil Matte in the shade 24 for my lip colour. These lip pencils together create the perfect shade to compliment the pink eye makeup.

IMG_4397.JPG

…and you’re done!

IMG_3123.JPG

name

One thought on “Special Occasion Eye Makeup

Leave a Reply

