Day & Night Makeup Looks

I recently did these makeup looks on two of my friends and thought I would share them with you. The look I’ll be explaining step-by-step in this post is the night makeup, so make sure to check back here next week for the day makeup.

This look is quite dramatic so I would personally wear it for a night occasion, but you can always tone it down by either leaving out the eyeshadow or the winged eyeliner. Feel free to play around with the lip colour as well because I only used neutral eyeshadow colours for this look.

IMG_5231.JPG
Instagram: @firdowsdobah

Step 1

The first step in creating this makeup look is to moisturise and prime your skin. Moisturising allows better application of the makeup, whilst priming the skin helps the makeup stay on for longer.

My favourite moisturiser to use is the Nivea Rich Nourishing Body Moisturiser for Dry Skin, but feel free to use any hydrating cream that you have. To prime the skin I used the Nivea Men Post Shave Balm for sensitive skin. I know this sounds like a weird product to use on your face, but after watching so many YouTubers rave about it, I decided to try it out for myself and I agree that it does do a good job at priming your skin.

Step 2

Next up is the eyeshadow. I decided to do this before applying any base in case there was a lot of fall out of the eyeshadow.

IMG_0576

First, you need to prime your eyelids using an eye primer, or a concealer. This will cover up any discolouration on your eyelids and will allow the true colour of the eyeshadow to appear. It will also prevent creasing and keep the eyeshadow on for longer. For this step, I used the Mac Studio Finish Concealer in the shade NC35 and applied this onto her eyelid with my finger.

To set the concealer in place  I used the colour “Combust” from the Urban Decay Naked Smoky Palette and swept this over her eyelids using a Coastal Scents BR-C-S03 brush. This will allow the eyeshadows to blend over it seamlessly.

IMG_0581.JPG

IMG_0588.JPG

Next, using the Inglot eyeshadow in the shade LI14CD, which is the brown shade on the bottom row of this palette, I placed this into the crease using a Coastal Scents BR-C-S08 brush. I blended this in throughout the crease to act as a transition colour. This will allow the eyeshadows I place on top of it to blend together well.

IMG_0609.JPG

IMG_0602

I then went into the Urban Decay Naked 2 Palette, and using the same Coastal Scents brush, I picked up the colour “Busted” and packed this into the outer corner of her eye. I blended this in a bit, using the same brush, to make sure there were no harsh edges.

IMG_0612.JPG

I took the flat side of the brush included in the palette and dampened it with water. This helps the eyeshadow to appear more pigmented on the eyelid. I then picked up the colours “Verve” and “Suspect” from the same palette and packed these on the parts of the eyelid that did not have any of the dark brown eyeshadow on it.

IMG_0615.JPG

I then took a Sigma Tapered Blending – E35 brush and blended the two eyeshadows in together. Make sure there are no harsh edges left behind.

After this, I went back to the Naked Smoky Palette, and using a Sigma SS219 brush, I applied the colour “Thirteen” underneath her eyebrow, and on the inner corner of her eye in order to highlight these areas.

IMG_5238

Step 3

IMG_5245.JPG

IMG_5228

Next up, is the dramatic winged eyeliner. Using the L’oreal Paris Super Liner Perfect Slim, I first created a thin line across her lash line. Make sure to use short strokes when doing this because it makes it easier to achieve a straight, thin line.

Then, from the corner of her eye, I created a line going up towards her eyebrow. I did this by simply holding the eyeliner pen in the position where I wanted the line to be, and allowing the eyeliner pen to touch the skin ever so gently. This is because it makes it easier to remove this line if it’s not in the correct position.

I then went into the Maybelline Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Liner in the colour “Intense Black”, and using a Coastal Scents BR-C-S16 brush, I connected the end of the diagonal line to the thin line drawn on the lash line.

All that’s left to do now is straighten out your wing and increase the thickness of the line drawn on your lash line just a tiny bit. Make sure to keep using a small amount of product at a time and small brush strokes in order to avoid making mistakes with this step.

If you can’t seem to get your wing to be straight, you can always go in with some concealer and a thin flat brush to clean up the bottom of your wing. Another easy way to get a sharp wing is to use some tape, and place this exactly where you would like your wing to be. Then you can simply draw the line using the tape as a guide, and connect it to your lash line.

Step 4

DSC07296.JPG

After this step, it’s time to apply mascara and add the finishing touches to the eyes. I used the Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara on her top and bottom lashes.

I then applied the Rimmel Scandaleyes Waterproof Khol Kajal Eye Liner in the colour “Nude” on her water line. This helps to make the eyes appear bigger but is a little less harsh than using a white liner on the waterline.

Step 5

Next, it’s time to fill in the eyebrows. Using the Sleek Brow Kit in the shade “Extra Dark” and a Mac 266 brush, I filled in any sparse areas using the dark brown eyeshadow.

IMG_5243.JPG

Step 6

Now onto the face makeup. I first applied foundation all over the face using the Rimmel Lasting Finish Foundation in “Medium Beige”. I applied this using a Mac 190 brush to spread this all over the skin, and then went in with a Real Techniques Sponge to push the product into her skin and make sure it was all well blended.

Then using a Sigma SS194 brush, and the Mac Studio Finish Concealer mentioned earlier, I applied this under the eyes to cover up any darkness. I then used the L.A. Girl Pro Powder to set the concealer under her eyes and swept this over the rest of her face, using a Real Techniques Multitask Brush.

Step 7

IMG_0635.JPG

This next step is my favourite part of any makeup look – applying highlighter. Using my finger I applied the Mary-Lou Manizer by theBalm onto the highest points of her cheeks and the tip of her nose.

I also went in with a Real Techniques Contour Brush and bronzed up her skin to give it a bit more definition. I used the Mac Bronzing Powder in the colour “Refined Golden.”

To add a bit more colour to her face, I went in with the Coastal Scents 10 Blush Palette and a Sigma ss150 brush, and using the third colour on the right, I applied this to her cheeks.

Step 8

The last step to this makeup look is applying the lip colour. For this step, I used the Nyx Retractable Lip Liner in the colour “Sand Beige”. I then went in with the Lime Crime Velvetine in the shade “Bleached”, and just applied this to the centre of her lips. I used both these colours because I preferred to have a matte lip since the eyeshadow was quite shimmery.

IMG_5274.JPG

DSC07203.JPG
Proving just how long lasting these lipsticks are.

… and that completes the makeup look! Make sure to tag me in any pictures if you recreate this look.

IMG_5240.JPGIMG_5234.JPGIMG_5233.JPGIMG_5236.JPGIMG_5241.JPG

name

One thought on “Day & Night Makeup Looks

Leave a Reply

