Summer Skincare Routine

I’ve finally reached a point of being happy with my skincare routine and the products that I use, so for my post this week I’ve decided to share my latest skincare routine.

IMG_1746edited.jpg

Starting off with my morning skincare, I use the Neutrogena Deep Clean Long-Last Shine Control Daily Scrub as a face wash. I’ve written a mini review on this product as part of my October Favourites post, so you can read more about it there. It’s basically just important for me to do this in the morning because my face tends to get a little oily at night. I also find it refreshing to use a face wash in the morning because it really wakes me up.

For moisturiser, I use The Body Shop Vitamin C Glow Boosting Moisturiser. I discovered this moisturiser recently, and I have to say that I absolutely love it. It absorbs into your skin really quickly, yet is still so cooling and refreshing. It also smells amazing and a little bit of it goes a long way. If my skin isn’t feeling so dull in the morning, I sometimes use the Nivea Daily Essentials Light Moisturising Day Cream instead, which is not as great as The Body Shop moisturiser, but it does the job. Sunblock is obviously important to wear during the day and the best ones I’ve tried are the Photoderm by Bioderma.

My night-time skincare starts off with cleansing my skin using the Olay Regenerist Brush and a cleanser. I love using this brush at the end of the day because it exfoliates my skin gently, which makes it perfect for daily use. I’m not a fan of the Olay Regenerist Cleanser that comes with the brush, so I prefer to use a cleanser of my choice. A good alternative to the Olay cleanser would be the Cetaphil Gentle Cleansing Lotion because they’re of a similar consistency but this one works just as well. I find that this brush is perfect to use after wearing makeup during the day. After removing my makeup using the Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water, I use this brush to remove any excess makeup left on my skin, and it does a really good job at doing this. Sometimes you can see makeup that you would’ve usually left on your skin, on the brush.

IMG_1712edited.jpg

At night, I prefer to use a moisturiser that is a little thicker, so I use The Body Shop Polynesian Monoi Radiance Oil. I’m in love with this stuff. Three drops is enough to use on your entire face so it will probably last ages. It smells so good and is incredibly moisturising on the skin. I’ve also noticed that it has improved the texture of my skin to make it really smooth, which is probably a result of the coconut oil inside it. I love using this before applying my makeup for when I want to achieve dewy looking skin and it’s also great to use on your hair.

Another product that I use is The Body Shop Oils of Life Intensely Revitalising Eye Cream-Gel. I haven’t seen a visible difference ever since I started using this eye cream, but it is super hydrating and really wakes you up, so it’s quite nice to use in the mornings. Again, like the other products I’ve mentioned, a little bit of this goes a long way so it would last quite long. I only picked up this product because it was free for me, so I don’t think it’s something I would buy again.

IMG_1728edited.jpg

About twice a week I use the British Rose Fresh Plumping Mask from The Body Shop. I bought this mask because I wanted to try something different. I’ve never really tried a mask of this consistency and I was a bit worried that it would be hard to apply. Turns out, it’s so easy to apply with a brush and you only need a thin layer, so this mask should last a while. It smells so good, moisturises and tones my skin well, and really improves my skin texture.

IMG_1757edited.jpg

Another skincare favourite of mine is the Clicks Skin Essentials Perfecting Nose Pore Strips. I’ve written about these in another blog post which you can read here.

To treat any zits or pimples I use the Benzac AC 5 Gel. This cream dries out pimples quite quickly for me, but if I do have any scars left behind from them I just use a bit of Bio-Oil to reduce their appearance. For a lip treatment I use Blistex DCT, which is probably the best lip balm I’ve tried for dry lips.

What are some of your skincare essentials? Let me know in the comments below!

name

One thought on “Summer Skincare Routine

Leave a Reply

