Hair Care for Hijabis

Although us hijabis will never have to experience the horror of going out in public with a bad hair day (bad hijab days are a thing too, though), it’s still equally important for us to take care of our hair since it hardly gets to see the sun or feel fresh air. In this blog post, I’ve shared my own hair care routine as well as some tips for hijabis to keep in mind.

IMG_2580.JPG

Starting off with regularly washing your hair (just because nobody sees it, doesn’t mean you shouldn’t wash it.) I try to wash my hair around 3 times a week but this obviously varies depending on the week. I basically try not to wash my hair too often and not often enough. Washing your hair too often will strip it of its natural oils whereas not washing it often enough, well, is just dirty.

I recently discovered a hair care brand by the name of HASK, that can be purchased from Clicks. I haven’t tried many different types of products from their range (let me know if you have and which ones you love in the comments below) but I have tried the Argan Oil Repairing Shampoo and Conditioner and love how soft they make my hair feel. However, the scent of the Coconut Oil version of this shampoo and conditioner is one of my favourites.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

If you want to take that extra step to having super soft and silky hair, I highly recommend the Organix Argan Oil and Shea Butter Weightless Oil. This is one of my all time favourite beauty products and I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve repurchased it. Once towel drying my hair, I run about two pumps of this oil through my damp hair and especially through the ends of my hair. You could also use this oil on dry hair to tame flyaways or just to make it smell good.

Another oil I love using on dry hair is The Body Shop Polynesian Monoi Radiance Oil, just to make my hair appear a bit more silky and smooth. This is another product that smells so good.

IMG_2581.JPG

Of course, we all have those days when we’re too lazy to wash our hair, and on days like this, I use a dry shampoo. I like the TRESemmΓ© Dry Shampoo because I feel it doesn’t leave a white residue on my hair like most dry shampoo’s do.

img_2583

It’s no surprise that coconut oil makes the perfect hair mask for when your scalp feels a bit dry or when your hair begins to look a bit dull and feel brittle. Whenever I feel like my hair needs a bit more extra attention I’ll use either the  Vatika Coconut Oil or just any organic virgin coconut oil I can find in the kitchen. I prefer to do this an hour before washing my hair because I can’t stand the feeling of oily hair, but feel free to keep the oil on for however long you feel necessary.

Another extra tip I have to give to you hijabis out there is to never tie your hair up wet, too tightly or for too long. Your hair is weakest when it’s wet so tying it up could lead to more hair fallout or breakage. Always make sure to wash your hair a few hours before you leave your house to allow it to dry. This is also just another way to avoid flat hijab hair (I’m sure most of you know what I’m referring to.)

A lot of hijabis complain about losing too much hair and that could either be because you tie your hair too tightly under your scarf or because your hair lacks in Vitamin D from not getting enough sunlight. So make sure to take your hijab off as soon as you get home and allow it to get some sunlight! Sit by a window if you can’t sit outside and allow your scalp to breatheTangle Teezers should also be your best friend if you lose a lot of hair whilst brushing it. Trust me, you’ll never pick up another brush again.

 

name2

Leave a Reply

