Why I Wear the Hijab

I recently came across a video by modest fashion icon, Dina Torkia (or “Dina Tokio” as most people know her), where she blatantly admitted the truth about her feelings towards the hijab. She mentioned that she, in fact, doesn’t always like wearing the hijab and the one reason why she has still kept it on her head for so long is for the simple reason that it’s what God wants.

The video got me thinking about the reason why I wear the hijab and I have to admit that I came to the same conclusion. If you started wearing the hijab at a young age, you’ve probably been asked the question, “Do you even like wearing the hijab?” at least once in your life.

So, what if my answer is no? I don’t think it’s a bad thing to not like wearing the hijab as long as the sole purpose of wearing it is to please Allah ï·º – I mean that is the whole point of it all isn’t?

A lot of us experience those days when the hijab can be like Dina mentioned, “a pain in the backside.” It may not be that we’re insecure about the way we look with the hijab, but just simply the fact that it can be annoying to put on sometimes. I mean, I personally wouldn’t mind being able to run out the door without having to throw on a scarf first.

But although I may have days when wearing a scarf is harder than most, I do also have those days when being identified as a Muslim with one look at my appearance feels so rewarding and I feel lucky to have the freedom to wear the hijab in the way that I like without a second thought, whereas some might not be so fortunate.

Dina also mentioned that her interest in fashion is another reason why she manages to keep wearing the scarf because that keeps it “fresh, interesting and consistent”. Many people would say though, that fashion is the reason why Muslim women struggle to dress in “proper hijab” – but although it is something that we all fall victim to, “proper hijab” is what we are all hopefully striving for and I’d rather work towards that with a scarf on my head than without one, because for me personally, it makes me more conscious of what I choose to wear.

Modest fashion allows those of us who don’t like the way we look with the regular, black hijab on to explore different styles and feel comfortable in it. We’re lucky enough to live in a time when “The Modesty Movement” is expanding and we all have these icons to look up to and people around us to encourage us to wear the hijab.

If you’ve been struggling to keep your hijab on I hope you overcome it and remember that you shouldn’t feel ashamed for it. Allah ï·º rewards us more for persevering through those hard times because after all, it’s our intention that counts.

Outfit details at the end of the post

IMG_5457IMG_5456IMG_5454IMG_54533780813F-6CE4-4058-975D-388FF7270381.jpgIMG_5458IMG_5455

Shirt: Belle Designs | Jeans: Forever 21 | Scarf: Primark | Shoes: Factorie | Lipstick: “Diva” by Mac

Contact Belle Designs to order this shirt:

Photography by Nandini Kocharname2
Leave a Reply

